Commonwealth Games Athletics - Live Stream Over 9000 Live Sports Online In HD Quality FREE | Livezstream Sports Network | - Commonwealth Games Athletics - The Commonwealth Games, often referred to as the Friendly Games, is an international multi-sport event involving...

Commonwealth Games Athletics

Commonwealth Games Athletics

The Commonwealth Games, often referred to as the Friendly Games, is an international multi-sport event involving athletes from the Commonwealth of Nations. The event was first held in 1930, and, with the exception of 1942 and 1946, has taken place every four years since then. The Commonwealth Games were known as the British Empire Games from 1930 to 1950, the British Empire and Commonwealth Games from 1954 to 1966, and British Commonwealth Games from 1970 to 1974. Athletes with a disability are included as full members of their national teams, making the Commonwealth Games the first fully inclusive international multi-sport event. In 2018, the Games became the first global multi-sport event to feature an equal number of men's and women's medal events. The creation of the Games was inspired by the Inter-Empire Championships, as a part of the Festival of Empire, which were held in London in 1911. Melville Marks Robinson founded the games as the British Empire Games which were first hosted in Hamilton, Canada in 1930. During the 20th and 21st centuries, the evolution of the games movement has resulted in several changes to the Commonwealth Games. Some of these adjustments include the creation of the Commonwealth Winter Games for snow and ice sports for the commonwealth athletes, the Commonwealth Paraplegic Games for commonwealth athletes with a disability and the Commonwealth Youth Games for commonwealth athletes aged 14 to 18. The first edition of the winter games and paraplegic games were held in 1958 and 1962 respectively, with their last edition held in 1966 and 1974, respectively, and the first youth games were held in 2000. The 1942 and 1946 Commonwealth Games were cancelled because of the Second World War. The Commonwealth Games are overseen by the Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF), which also controls the sporting programme and selects the host cities. The games movement consists of international sports federations (IFs), Commonwealth Games Associations (CGAs), and organising committees for each specific Commonwealth Games. There are several rituals and symbols, such as the Commonwealth Games flag and Queen's Baton Relay, as well as the opening and closing ceremonies. Over 5,000 athletes compete at the Commonwealth Games in more than 15 different sports and more than 250 events. The first, second, and third-place finishers in each event receive Commonwealth Games medals: gold, silver, and bronze, respectively. Apart from many Olympic sports, the games also include some sports which are played predominantly in Commonwealth countries but which are not part of the Olympic programme, such as lawn bowls, netball, cricket and squash. Although there are currently 54 members of the Commonwealth of Nations, 72 teams currently participate in the Commonwealth Games, as it is a feature of the Commonwealth Games that a number of dependent territories who do not compete separately at the Olympic Games, compete in the Commonwealth Games under their own flags. The four Home Nations of the United Kingdom (England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland) also send separate teams. For the purposes of the Commonwealth Games, 4 Home Nations, 3 Crown Dependencies and all but three of the inhabited Overseas Territories all of whom are represented by Team GB at the Olympic Games, instead attend as 14 separate delegations. The other three Overseas Territories - British Virgin Islands, Bermuda and Cayman Islands represent themselves at both events. Nineteen cities in nine countries (counting England, Scotland and Wales separately) have hosted the games. Australia has hosted the Commonwealth Games five times (1938, 1962, 1982, 2006 and 2018); this is more times than any other nation. Two cities have hosted Commonwealth Games more than once: Auckland (1950, 1990) and Edinburgh (1970, 1986). Only six nations have participated in every Commonwealth Games: Australia, Canada, England, New Zealand, Scotland and Wales. Of these six, Australia, England, Canada and New Zealand have each won at least one gold medal in every Games. Australia has been the highest achieving team for thirteen editions of the Games, England for seven, and Canada for one. These three teams also top the all-time Commonwealth Games medal table in that order. Seasons 2018 2022 Teams Antigua and Bar -10 Australia Athle -4 Bahamas Athleti -7 Barbados Athlet -9 Botswana Athlet -9 Cameroon Athlet -10 Canada Athletic -2 England Athleti -6 Gambia Athletic -10 Ghana Athletics -10 Grenada Athleti -9 Guyana Athletic -9 India Athletics -10 Jamaica Athleti Kenya Athletics -6 Malawi Athletic -10 Malaysia Athlet -10 Malta Athletics -10 Namibia Athleti -9 New Zealand Ath -9 Nigeria Athleti -8 Northern Island -10 Pakistan Athlet -10 Saint Kitts and -10 Sierra Leone At -10 Singapore Athle -10 South Africa At -7 Trinidad and To -5 Tuvalu Athletic -11 Zambia Athletic -9 Key () Missing Artwork (- 4) Missing 4 Players: Data and Artwork () Team Complete Trophy Icon Fanart Banner Other Links Facebook Twitter Instagram Website Youtube

Current Season



© 2022 - Live Stream Over 9000 Live Sports Online In HD Quality FREE | Livezstream Sports Network | - All Rights Reserved