You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.
A. J. Foyt Enterprises

More Details
Established : 1965
Sport : Motorsport
Event : IndyCar Series
Location : United States
Manajer :
Other Name : A. J. Foyt Racing
Keywords :
Homeground :
Website :

A. J. Foyt Enterprises

A. J. Foyt Enterprises is an American racing team in the IndyCar Series and formerly NASCAR. It is owned by four-time Indianapolis 500 winner, 1972 Daytona 500 winner, 1967 24 Hours of Le Mans winner and two-time 24 Hours of Daytona winner A. J. Foyt. A. J. won two of his four Indianapolis 500s driving for the team. The team also won the 1999 Indianapolis 500 and the IRL championship in 1996 and 1998. USAC National Championship The team was founded in 1965 and won three National Championship (in 1967, 1975 and 1979) and two Indianapolis 500 (in 1967 and 1977), all with A. J. Foyt at the wheel. CART A. J. Foyt Enterprises never won a CART-sanctioned event during its participation from 1979 to 1995. At the 1995 Bosch Spark Plug Grand Prix, Eddie Cheever was leading the race with just over one lap to go when the car ran out fuel. It would be the closest the team came to winning a CART race. IndyCar Series Jack Hawksworth participating in the Pit Stop Challenge at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in 2015. Foyt Enterprises won IRL titles in 1996 with Scott Sharp and 1998 with Kenny Bräck. Bräck also won the Indianapolis 500 for the team in 1999. In 2006 the team hoped to resurrect itself with experienced driver Felipe Giaffone and a more level playing ground brought by a spec engine. However, after a strong start to the season, the team struggled after the Indianapolis 500 and parted ways with Giaffone after the eighth race. Jeff Bucknum was brought in to fill the seat for the rest of the year. In 2007 Foyt announced that Larry Foyt would take over as team manager and Darren Manning was signed as the team's driver. Manning captured three top-five finishes in his two years with the team, including a second place in 2008 at Watkins Glen International. However, with high-profile veteran Vítor Meira becoming available following the 2008 season, Foyt signed him to replace Manning. Foyt Enterprises began the 2009 IndyCar Series season sponsored by ABC Supply and fielding Vitor Meira, who was injured in the Indianapolis 500. Ryan Hunter-Reay and Paul Tracy took over driving duties for the rest of the 2009 season. Meira returned in 2010 but split with the team after the season. Japanese driver Takuma Sato joined Foyt's team in 2013, winning that year at Long Beach. The team announced in October that they would field a second car (No. 41) full-time in 2015 for Jack Hawksworth.

Latest Events Result
Join Our Newsletter